Spanish for the International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) 

 

I/GCSE is the official exam that students of the British curriculum take when they finish their key stage 4 (year 11), right before entering sixth form where they will go along A Levels (years 12 and 13). The British curriculum is widely accepted as an international educational programme, and its official exams, I/GCSE and A Levels, are extensively valued when applying to any university, either in the UK or in any other country.

Given that, many international schools also combine the British secondary education until year 11, with the Diploma Programme (DP) of the International Baccalaureate in years 12 and 13. Said that, it’s clear that Spanish I/GCSE is the perfect step for your son/daughter before facing the last two years before university, on first place for its recognition but specially because it perfectly settles the foundations for subsequent subjects (AS Spanish in A Levels or Spanish B in IB Diploma).

Neither to say that Spanish I/GCSE also ideally match the later election of Spanish subject in the Hong Kong local curriculum for senior secondary school, the Hong Kong Diploma of Secondary Education (HKDSE), since it correspond to AS Spanish subject and it’s evaluation (see the A Levels and HKDSE section).

I/GCSE is then the first examination that can help your son/daughter to enter the chosen university, and for that reason extra support is especially relevant when developing exam strategies for a better performance. This is even more urgent when a student starts studying Spanish in year 8 or later –in Hong Kong some schools start offering Spanish in year 7 or below, but not all of them-, sometimes because of a change of foreign language subject, from a former one to Spanish.

What do we do to guarantee the good results of your son/daughter?

Our teachers have a long experience preparing students for their I/GCSE exam, most of then getting outstanding results, A or A*, independently of the school they attend or his/her background and profile. And this is possible because they deeply know the main factors the students’ results depend on, and these are as follow.

Although different boards design and handle the papers that make up the final I/GCSE exam, external institutions that guarantee the impartiality of the assessment and the validity of the results worldwide, the topics, grammar and vocabulary contents to be evaluated are same and settled by the British government. The main differences between taking the exam with one board or another arise in relation to the structure of each paper they design –listening, reading, writing and speaking-, and the type of tasks that are included, specially in the speaking test.

Our teachers are also highly aware of the competencies that are being evaluated in each of the papers and its tasks, as well as of the appropriate strategies the student should develop in order to outperform the other candidates (the grades are given according to the distribution of the students marks on a normal curve, that means comparing between them).

Finally, taking into account the assessment criteria published in official sources is also essential in order to guide your son/daughter in the right direction. This will make possible the improvement of his/her oral or written productions step by step along a well design set of activities to practice and train, without forgetting to cover the whole grammar contents, vocabulary and topics.

Useful additional resources we make available to our students

Having a long experience in I/GCSE Spanish training has helped us to develop a great set of tools and resources of big value for our students. Past papers are the main source of real practice, papers and its tasks that we have classified according to the different boards, topics and level of difficulty. We also hold several questions banks of regular questions used in the oral exam, vocabulary lists by topics, and a collection of idioms that will allow the student to show a high level of foreign language management, manipulation and fluidity.

Books constitute as well very useful guides to learning and practice. In our library we keep a big assortment of publications that are accredited by the main exam boards (Cambridge International Examinations, Edexcel, OCR, AQA) published by the biggest publishing groups in the UK (Hodder Education, Pearson/Heinemann, Oxford University Press). For sure we will find the appropriate one/s to use and help your son/daughter.

IGCSE in Hong Kong

Given the wide recognition of I/GCSE level and its grades for entering the university, in Hong Kong many students decide to take it even though they are following the local curriculum in their schools. We have helped many of them to succeed in that.

Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority offers local students the possibility to take I/GCSE either with Cambridge International Examinations or with Edexcel. Sometimes the school the student attends arranges the exam enrolment for him/her, being then a School candidate. But also private candidates can take it. In both cases having an extra support is crucial for succeeding, and we know exactly how to do it.

To know more about specific contents of each course or lesson plans do not hesitate to contact us!

香港西班牙文化會 - The Spanish Cultural Association of Hong Kong

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon

Telephone: (+852) 3611 5904  Whatsapp: (+852) 5134 9008 info@spanish.hk 

Unit A, 13F, Eastern Flower Centre, 22-24 Cameron Road, Tsim Sha Tsui

1305 Cameron Commercial Building, 458 Hennesy Road, Causeway Bay

CANCELLATION POLICY, PAYMENTS AND CHANGESPlease note that cancellation must be made 24 hours in advance.For sick leave, 2 hours notification in advance is required with doctor note provided. Otherwise missed lessons will be charged.Cancellation and make up arrangement must be made via Whatsapp.

香港西班牙文化會 - The Spanish Cultural Association of Hong Kong

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon

電話: (+852) 3611 5904 Whatsapp: (+852) 5134 9008 電郵: info@spanish.hk 

九龍尖沙嘴金馬倫道22-24號東麗中心14

香港銅鑼灣軒尼詩道458-468金聯商業中心13樓5室

告假/補堂措施
如需請假,學生必於課堂前24 小時以Whatsapp 通知我們。
如告病假,學生亦需最少2小時前以Whatsapp 通知我們並附上醫生證明(可後補)。未能出示醫生證明者不獲補堂,缺席課堂需照原價付款。
補堂安排須透過Whatsapp 處理。

西班牙文國際普通中學教育文憑考試 IGCSE

 

 

I/GCSE 是英國學生完成第四重要學習階段後(11年級)的正式考試,其後將升讀中六及中七(12年級及13年級),再參加高級程度會考。英國課程獲廣泛認證為國際教育課程,其官方考試 I/GCSE 和高級程度會考課程均獲英國和其他國家的大學認可。

有鑑於此,國際學校一般採用英國中學教育,直至11年級,並在12及13年級時採用國際文憑大學預科課程(IBDP)。I/GCSE西班牙語能夠為之後的AS西班牙語或IB中的西班牙語B打好基礎,讓您的子女在踏進大學前的兩年內做好準備。

I/GCSE西班牙語亦銜接香港本地高中課程,即香港中學文憑考試(HKDSE),因為其課程亦符合AS西班牙語及其評估條件(請參見高級程度會考及香港中學文憑考試部分)。

在I/GCSE 獲取優異成績能夠提升入讀心儀大學的機會,為考獲佳績,在準備考試策略時,子女能得到額外的支持十分重要,尤其若學生在8年級或之後才開始學習西班牙語。在香港,一些學校在7年級或之前便開始教授西班牙語,有時是從某種外語轉為西班牙語。

我們如何保證您的子女獲取佳績?

 

我們的老師經驗豐富,為學生充分準備應考 I/GCSE 考試,無論學生來自甚麼學校或背景,大部分都能取得 A 或 A * 的優異成績。這是因為我們的老師掌握了能讓學生獲取佳績的要訣。

雖然 I/GCSE 考試由不同的委員會設計和處理,但保證考試公正性和全球結果有效性的外部機構、考試範圍內的主題、語法和詞彙內容是相同的,並由英國政府作最後決定。不同委員會設計的考試的差別在於試卷的架構,包括聆聽、閱讀、寫作及說話,以及每部份包含的題目類型,尤其是口語部分。

我們的老師非常了解每份試卷所測試的範疇與能力,以及學生應具備的程度,並指導他們採取適當策略以超越其他應試學生(考試評級根據學生成績拉曲線,即互相比較成績)。

最後,當然也需要利用官方發佈的評估標準,讓您的子女清楚理解考試方向。這將可逐步改進學生的說話及寫作技巧,配合精心設計的練習和活動進行訓練,涵蓋所有考試所需語法、詞彙和主題。

為學生提供的額外實用資源

我們在 I/GCSE 西班牙語課程培訓的多年豐富經驗中,開發了一系列甚具價值的工具和資源,幫助學生獲取佳績,當中包括根據不同的委員會、主題和程度分類的歷屆試題,以及一系列口語考試常見的題目、根據題目分類的詞彙、諺語列表,提升學生的外語水平及流利程度。

多閱讀亦是提升語言水平的有效方法。我們的圖書館收藏獲主要考試委員會(包括劍橋大學國際考試局、Edexcel、OCR、AQA)認可、英國大型出版社(霍德教育出版社、培生 / 海尼曼、牛津大學出版社)出版的各樣書籍,當中必定有適合您子女的練習教材。

香港 I/GCSE

由於 I/GCSE 在全球大學的認受性,許多就讀本地課程的香港學生亦有應試,我們亦幫助了不少本地學生在 I/GCSE 獲取佳績。

根據香港考試及評核局,本地學生可參加劍橋大學國際考試局或 Edexcel 提供的 I/GCSE。學校一般已為學生報名考試,學生會自動成為該學校的應試學生;個別學生可自行報名考試。然而不論哪種情況下,學生獲得額外的學習機會都十分重要,我們的教學絕對能幫助您的子女獲取佳績。